BigCommerce - Hosted Ecommerce Software by Interspire

Interspire Forum

 
Go Back   Interspire Forum > Interspire Shopping Cart Community Forum > E-Commerce and Selling Online

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2010, 04:41 PM
ckeck + ckeck is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Default Sitemap errors with Google Webmaster Tools

SOLVED

-----

Hey everyone,

I continue to submit my sites sitemap.php file to Google and keep getting this error:

Sitemap is HTML
Your Sitemap appears to be an HTML page. Please use a supported sitemap format instead.

Any idea why this is happening? Thanks.

-Chad

Last edited by ckeck; 02-18-2010 at 11:13 PM.. Reason: SOLVED
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2010, 08:54 PM
vox + vox is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckeck View Post
Hey everyone,

I continue to submit my sites sitemap.php file to Google and keep getting this error:

Sitemap is HTML
Your Sitemap appears to be an HTML page. Please use a supported sitemap format instead.

Any idea why this is happening? Thanks.

-Chad
What version are you running? 5.5 has a different sitemap location.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2010, 11:12 PM
ckeck + ckeck is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

Ah, thanks...I was using the old /sitemap.php file...wish they would have just removed that. Switched to the xmlsitemap.php file and now its working fine.

Appreciate the response!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2010, 01:17 AM
myshop + myshop is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central Coast, NSW Australia
Posts: 1,338
Default

I reaallllly wish Interspire would document these things.. I was on the ball so I spotted this change, but soooo many customers wouldnt unless they are told.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2010, 04:50 PM
Kurtd + Kurtd is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 767
Default

Wow, I can't believe that they changed the name of the xml sitemap forcing everyone to update the url at search engine sites. I'm glad I saw this thread.
__________________
.


Vote for Preorder \ Backorder Functionality
http://ideas.interspire.com/pages/sh...-functionality

Vote for better shipping calculations, multiple boxes, etc.
http://ideas.interspire.com/pages/35...oxes?ref=title
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2010, 07:06 AM
myshop + myshop is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central Coast, NSW Australia
Posts: 1,338
Default

changing it wasnt such a bad idea, not documenting the change in any meaningful way was the bad part.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2010, 08:34 AM
tonybarnes + tonybarnes is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,285
Default

Weirdly ours had been processing fine, but just checked webmaster tools and it said there was a problem. Changed now.

Agree, this should of been flagged....
__________________
www.savant-health.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:16 AM
Summer + Summer is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
Send a message via MSN to Summer Send a message via Skype™ to Summer
Default

A newbie question, where do i change the global value for the url?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2010, 08:56 AM
tonybarnes + tonybarnes is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,285
Default

You change it in google webmmaster tools - you'll have to set it up as a new map. Just put xmlsitemap.php in the box when doing it
__________________
www.savant-health.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2010, 09:20 PM
Zwholesale + Zwholesale is offline
Interspire Customer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 27
Default Google Sitemap Error! Paths don't match! Please Help

Hi Everyone,

I submitted Google sitemap and i am getting errors. when I submit sitemap url it was www.mysite/sitemap.php. Now I am getting error.

Please help me with this issue. what is actually sitemap url? I am using VERSION 5.5



error

Paths don't match
We've detected that you submitted your Sitemap using a URL path that includes the www prefix (for instance, http://www.example.com/sitemap.xml). However, the URLs listed inside your Sitemap don't use the www prefix (for instance, http://example.com/myfile.htm).
URL:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, google, sitemap, webmaster

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump